Make changes to existing orders or update a client's subscription details.

After you start selling packages, gift certificates, or subscriptions, you can edit or cancel a client’s order from the client list. This includes making updates to a client’s individual booking code, canceling the code entirely, or reviewing the remaining value. You can also edit or cancel a code from the View orders page.

Your clients can also make changes to their subscription details, including updating their subscription payment method. 

Note: The instructions below include links to Acuity settings separated by the kind of account you use to log into Acuity. Which kind of account do I have?

Watch a video

Manage client orders

You can manage, edit, and cancel a client’s package, gift certificate, or subscription order from the client list. You can also review the remaining value of a client’s existing package, gift certificate, or subscription.

Edit a client’s order

Note: Use caution when editing codes, as errors are difficult to fix, and can cause problems when subscriptions recharge.

To edit a client's package, gift certificate, or subscription order:

  1. Open the Clients panel: I log in with an Acuity account | I log in with a Squarespace account
  2. From the client list, click the client’s name.
  3. Scroll to the bottom of the client’s profile to the Orders section.
  4. Click View order for the package, gift certificate, or subscription you want to change.
  5. Click the code.
  6. Make changes, then click Update code.

You can also edit the original package, gift certificate, or subscription, which then applies to every client who has purchased that package, gift certificate, or subscription. 

If you need to edit the code that you generated for a client, like when sending a free code:

  1. Open the Packages, gifts & subscriptions panel: I log in with an Acuity account | I log in with a Squarespace account.
  2. Click Edit next to the package, gift certificate, or subscription. 
  3. In the Certificate Codes section on the right, click the pencil icon next to the code that you generated. 
  4. Make any edits, then click Update Code.

Cancel a client’s order

To cancel a client's package, gift certificate, or subscription order:

  1. Open the Clients panel: I log in with an Acuity account | I log in with a Squarespace account
  2. From the client list, click the client’s name.
  3. Scroll to the bottom of the client’s profile to the Orders section.
  4. Click View order for the booking code you want to change.
  5. Click the code.
  6. In the bottom-right, click Delete, then click Ok.

You can also cancel a code from the View orders page

Review remaining value

To review a client’s remaining appointments:

  1. Open the Clients panel: I log in with an Acuity account | I log in with a Squarespace account
  2. From the client list, click the client’s name.
  3. Scroll to the Package/Gift certificate codes section to review the details of the client’s order. 

To review how many appointments are left on a specific package, gift certificate, or subscription:

  1. Open the Packages, gifts & subscriptions panel: I log in with an Acuity account | I log in with a Squarespace account.
  2. Click Edit next to the package, gift certificate, or subscription you want to review. 
  3. Active package, gift certificate, or subscription codes are listed along the right side of the page, along with how many appointments are left on each.

View and export orders

You can view all orders, or export a .csv file summarizing all orders. 

  1. Open the Packages, gifts & subscriptions panel: I log in with an Acuity account | I log in with a Squarespace account.
  2. Click View orders.
  3. To view details about the order, or edit or delete a client's code, select an order from the list. 
  4. To export a .csv file, click Export all.

The export file includes all packages, gift certificates, and subscriptions that were purchased, but not codes generated with the Add code button. Only the first payment of a subscription is listed.

The spreadsheet includes these order details:

  • Order date
  • First and last name
  • Phone number
  • Email address
  • Order total
  • Payment status
  • Notes
  • Products included in the order

Manage subscriptions

Clients can manage their subscriptions using the link sent in each subscription payment email, or you can send them a link to their client page. From the link, they can:

  • View past payments
  • Update their card on file
  • Cancel the subscription
  • Reactivate the subscription

To send a client a link to their page so they can manage their subscription: 

  1. Open the Packages, gifts & subscriptions panel: I log in with an Acuity account | I log in with a Squarespace account.
  2. On the left, click Subscribers.
  3. Click View next to a subscriber.
  4. At the top of the panel, click Client's page
  5. Copy the URL from the browser bar and send it directly to your client. 

You can also manage subscribers from your Acuity account:

  1. Open the Packages, gifts & subscriptions panel: I log in with an Acuity account | I log in with a Squarespace account.
  2. On the left, click Subscribers.
  3. Click View for a subscription.
  4. Click Edit.
  5. Edit the subscriber's name, phone number, email address, card number, or next payment date as needed.
Tip: If you change a subscription's Next payment date, the client will be charged on that date each month moving forward. For example, if you have a subscription that renews every month on the 15th, but you override the next payment date and change it to the 20th, the client will now be billed every month on the 20th. 
  1. To cancel or reactivate a subscription, click the status next to the subscription, then select Canceled or Active from the dropdown menu. 
  2. Click Save changes.

After canceling a subscription, clients can still redeem the existing balance on their subscription until what would've been the next renewal date. However, the subscription code will not be reloaded moving forward. 

Subscription expiration dates

When you create a subscription with a set number of billing cycles, the subscription expires at the end of the last billing cycle. The subscription code is no longer valid and clients can't book appointments using that code. 

Subscriptions that have reached their maximum number of billing cycles can't be reactivated. Instead, clients can purchase a new subscription. 

For example, if a subscription is set to renew monthly for five payments max and the final payment is made on April 1, the subscription code would expire on May 1.

Subscription payment failures

If a client's payment method fails when Acuity tries to process a scheduled payment, their subscription is canceled. They can reactivate it by updating their card on file through the link in their confirmation email. You can add new payment information to a client's subscription by editing the subscription.

Note: If you change your payment processor while client subscriptions are active, your clients' automated payments will fail until you or they re-enter their card numbers.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 1 found this helpful

Can't find what you're looking for?

We're here to help.

Contact Us