Canceling and deleting your Acuity Scheduling subscription

Deactivate your subscription immediately, or turn off auto-renew.

You can cancel your Acuity subscription at any time. It's only possible to manage your Acuity subscription from a computer.

If you log in with a Squarespace account

Note: These instructions apply if you log into Acuity with a Squarespace account. If you log in with an Acuity account, cancelling and deleting work differently. Visit the section below for specific steps. Which kind of account do I have?

When you cancel Acuity, it’s treated like all other canceled Squarespace subscriptions. Your subscription is canceled immediately and clients can no longer book appointments.

You can delete an Acuity subscription that isn’t attached to a Squarespace website. The only way to delete an Acuity subscription that's attached to a Squarespace website is to delete the website as well. We automatically issue a full refund when you cancel your subscription within the first 14 days. To learn more about refunds, visit Refund policies.

Site owners and contributors with Admin or Billing permissions can make these changes.
Tip: If you're on an Acuity trial, the trial expires automatically, and you won't be charged unless you upgrade to a paid subscription. It's not possible to cancel a Acuity trial before it expires.

This guide reviews the two ways to end your subscription:

  • Option 1 - Cancel your subscription to deactivate Acuity immediately.
  • Option 2 - Disable auto-renew to let your Scheduling subscription expire at the end of the billing cycle.

Option 1 - Cancel your subscription

This option cancels your subscription immediately. Your clients cannot book appointments unless you reactivate on a new subscription.

To cancel your Acuity subscription if you added Acuity to a Squarespace website:

  1. Open the Billing panel.
  2. Under Subscriptions, click Scheduling.
  3. Click Cancel Subscription.
  4. In the next panel, click Cancel Scheduling Subscription.
  5. Click Confirm.

To cancel your Acuity subscription if you're using Scheduling on its own:

  1. In the account dashboard, click the three dots at the top-right of your Scheduling subscription's card, then click Billing.
  2. Click your Acuity subscription.
  3. Click Cancel Subscription.

Option 2 - Turn off auto-renew

This option sets your Acuity subscription to expire at the end of its current billing cycle. This means your clients can book appointments for the remainder of the cycle.

To turn off auto-renew for Acuity added to an existing Squarespace website:

  1. Open the Billing panel.
  2. Under Subscriptions, click Scheduling.
  3. Switch the Renew Automatically toggle off.

To turn off auto-renew for Scheduling used on its own:

  1. In the account dashboard, click the three dots at the top-right of your Scheduling subscription's card, then click Billing.
  2. Click on your Acuity subscription.
  3. Uncheck Renew Automatically.

After cancellation

After your Acuity subscription is canceled or expires, clients won't be able to book appointments. You can view past appointments and export client data, but you can't make changes in Acuity or book appointments for clients. Reminder and follow-up email notifications that are scheduled for existing appointments will not be sent.

If you shared your scheduler in a scheduling block, delete the block after canceling. It isn't removed automatically when you cancel.

Reactivate your subscription

If your Acuity subscription is canceled but not deleted, you may be able to reactivate it.

To reactivate your Acuity subscription:

  1. In the Home menu, click Scheduling.
  2. Follow the prompts to upgrade to a paid subscription.
  3. Follow the steps to choose your plan.

Delete Acuity

If you’re using Acuity attached to a Squarespace website, you can cancel Acuity to make it inactive, but it's not possible to delete Acuity without also deleting your Squarespace website. If you’ve canceled Acuity as part of an effort to delete a Squarespace website, visit Deleting your site and its content for steps for deleting your site.

If you’re using Acuity by itself, you can delete it after canceling your subscription. Deleting Acuity marks its content for permanent deletion.

After deleting Acuity:

  • You won’t be able to log in to make changes or view past data.
  • Your scheduler won’t be accessible to visitors.
  • Acuity won't appear in your account dashboard.
  • Your scheduler and its data and content won’t be recoverable.

To delete Acuity:

  1. In the account dashboard, click the three dots at the top-right of your Acuity subscription's card, then click Delete.
  2. Click Delete to confirm.

If you log in with an Acuity account

Note: These instructions apply if you log into Acuity with an Acuity account. If you log in with a Squarespace account, cancelling and deleting work differently. Visit the section above for specific steps. Which kind of account do I have?

You can cancel your subscription, downgrading to the legacy free plan, at any time. In this state, your account data is saved, but you aren't charged.

You can only delete your Acuity account after canceling your Acuity subscription.

Cancel your Acuity subscription

To cancel your Acuity subscription:

  1. On the My Account page scroll to the Current Plan section.
  2. Click Cancel Subscription, then click Confirm Cancellation.

This will downgrade you to the legacy free plan. To reverse your cancellation, upgrade to a paid plan.

Delete your Acuity account

To delete your Acuity Scheduling account entirely, you must first cancel your subscription. After canceling your subscription:

  1. On the My Account page scroll to the Current Plan section.
  2. Click Delete My Account, then click Confirm Account Deletion.

Deleting an account marks its content for permanent deletion and ends the account's relationship with Acuity Scheduling. Your account won't be accessible to you, and your scheduler won't be accessible to visitors. After your account is deleted, we can't restore any of your account data if you later change your mind.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 22 found this helpful

Can't find what you're looking for?

We're here to help.

Contact Us