Blocking off unavailable time in Acuity Scheduling

Prevent clients from booking when you're busy.

Block off time in Acuity Scheduling to set yourself as temporarily unavailable. Times that you've blocked won't appear as options when clients book online.

Note: The instructions below include links to Acuity settings separated by the kind of account you use to log into Acuity. Which kind of account do I have?

How blocks work

Blocked time won't display for your clients. When they book online, the times that you've blocked won't be options. This is the same experience clients would have if you were already fully booked at that time.

You can override blocked time when you book appointments for your clients through the Acuity Scheduling panel. Blocked time doesn't affect group classes, because you always choose their times through the Acuity Scheduling panel.

If you add a block on top of an existing appointment, the appointment will remain on your calendar, but no new clients can book at that time.

Note: If you sync Acuity Scheduling with a third-party calendar, blocked time will not appear on the third-party calendar.

Block off time

To add blocked time to your calendar:

  1. Open the Calendar: I log in with an Acuity account | I log in with a Squarespace account.
  2. Click Block off time.
  3. Enter a date and a time range, or check Block multiple days and enter start and end dates.
  4. If you have more than one calendar, choose which calendars are blocked. If you use availability and scheduling limits by appointment type, choose which appointment groups are blocked.
  5. Enter any notes you want to leave yourself (optional).
  6. Click Block off time.

To add a recurring block:

  1. Open the Calendar: I log in with an Acuity account | I log in with a Squarespace account.
  2. Click Block off time.
  3. Enter a date and a time range, then click Repeat.
  4. Choose the day of the week the block should happen and when it should end.
  5. Click Block off time.

Edit or remove blocked time

The steps below apply if you added the blocked time through your Acuity Scheduling calendar, or used the Block off time button on the Availability panel.

To edit or remove blocked time:

  1. Open the Calendar: I log in with an Acuity account | I log in with a Squarespace account.
  2. Select the blocked time you want to edit or remove.
  3. Make your changes, then click Save changes. Or, click Delete, then click OK
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful