Acuity subscription renewals and expirations

Last updated

Automatic renewal policies and what happens if your Acuity subscription expires.

To prevent service interruptions, Acuity subscriptions are set to renew automatically by default. If we can’t charge your payment method, we’ll either downgrade your subscription or it will expire, depending on if your billing is Squarespace or Acuity-managed.

To find your billing details, click Manage Billing or your account profile in Acuity. If your URL contains squarespace.com, review the Squarespace-managed billing section. If it contains acuityscheduling.com, review the Acuity-managed billing section.

Also try: If you still log in with an Acuity username and password, you access your billing information in a different way.

Review your Acuity subscription renewal date

  • Squarespace-managed billing - To review your renewal date open the Billing panel. Then click Subscriptions.
  • Acuity-managed billing - To review your renewal date click Manage Billing or your account profile when logged in to Acuity.

Auto-renewal email reminders

For accounts billed annually, we send an email reminder 15 days before your renewal date to give you time to update your payment method or turn off the renewal. To renew your subscription, you don’t need to take any action as long as the credit card you have on file is valid.

Disable auto-renew (Squarespace-managed billing)

When your billing cycle ends, your subscription expires. We’ll save all of your calendars and settings, but clients can’t book appointments.

To disable auto-renew for Acuity added to an existing Squarespace website:

  1. Open the Billing panel.
  2. Under Subscriptions, click Scheduling.
  3. Switch the Renew automatically toggle off.

To disable auto-renew for Acuity used on its own:

  1. In Acuity, click Manage Billing.
  2. Click Subscriptions.
  3. Click your subscription.
  4. Uncheck Renew Automatically.

Disable auto-renew (Acuity-managed billing)

When your billing cycle ends, you’ll be downgraded to our free plan. The free plan limits many of your settings and features. If you change your mind, you can upgrade from the free plan to one of our paid plans. All of your settings and data are preserved exactly as you left them.

To disable auto-renew:

  1. In Acuity, click Manage Billing or your account profile, whichever appears in the bottom-left.
  2. Uncheck Renew Automatically.

If auto-renew is enabled but the payment is declined

If we can’t authorize the renewal charge, your Acuity subscription will be past-due. We’ll send an email prompting you to review your payment details or to update your card. Over the next two weeks, we’ll automatically try to charge the card on file up to three more times.

If we still can’t charge your card after 15 days:

  • Squarespace-managed billing - your Acuity subscription expires, and your clients can’t book appointments. We treat expired subscriptions as canceled. Depending on your settings, you may be able to reactivate a canceled Acuity subscription.
  • Acuity-managed billing - we’ll downgrade you to our free plan which limits many of your settings and features. After you update your card, you can upgrade from the free plan to one of our paid plans. All your settings and data are preserved exactly as you left them.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Can't find what you're looking for?

We're here to help.

Contact Us