If you use the original Acuity login process, billing settings are different than if you log in through Squarespace.
Use this guide if you log in to Acuity with an Acuity username and password, instead of a Squarespace account.
Pricing and accepted methods of payment
You can choose from a variety of Acuity Scheduling plans, paid for on an annual or monthly basis. All payments for Acuity Scheduling are in U.S. dollars, and your receipts from Acuity are in U.S. dollars. If your financial institution operates in another currency, there may be a conversion to that currency on their statements.
We accept:
- Major credit cards, including Visa, Mastercard, American Express, and Discover
- Debit cards that bear a major credit card’s logo
It’s not possible to pay with:
- Wire transfers
- Checks
- PayPal
- Purchase orders
- Bitcoin or other cryptocurrencies
Note: You can't use Squarespace offer codes with Legacy Acuity accounts.
If you have legacy pricing, you can remain on a legacy plan, even if you:
- Upgrade
- Downgrade
- Downgrade to the legacy free plan
- Switch between annual and monthly payments
Failed payments and updating your billing details
Update your card or address on file
To enter a new billing credit card or debit card or to update your address:
- Go to the My Account page.
- Click Update credit card.
- Enter the new information.
- Click Update billing.
If your card was declined
If your card is declined when we try to charge you for your Acuity subscription, your account won’t be immediately canceled or downgraded.
We’ll send you an email about the decline which will ask you to review your payment details or try a different card. Over the next two weeks, we’ll automatically try to charge the card on file up to three more times.
When will you downgrade my account to a free plan?
If we still can’t process your payment after two weeks, we'll downgrade your account to our free plan. The free plan limits many of your settings and features. After you update your card, you can upgrade from the free plan to one of our paid plans. All your settings and data are preserved exactly as you left them.
Check card details
To ensure that we can charge your card, check that:
- All card information is entered correctly in the My account panel
- That the card hasn’t expired
- Your financial institution shows any debit card you used is connected to an account with sufficient funds for the charge
If you’ve double-checked those details, but Acuity still can’t successfully charge you, contact your credit card company or bank to ask why the charge is being declined.
View your receipts
You can view your receipts if you currently have or have ever had a paid account.
To review your receipts:
- Go to the My account panel.
- Click View receipts.
We’re required to collect tax on Acuity subscriptions in some jurisdictions. To learn more, visit our guides on taxes in the United States, value added taxes (VATs), taxes in Canada, or taxes in Australia and New Zealand.
Tip: You can also send your clients receipts when they pay for appointments.
Change your Acuity billing plan
Changes to your plan take effect as soon as you click Upgrade or Downgrade. To upgrade or downgrade your plan:
- Go to the My account panel.
- Click Upgrade or Downgrade for the plan you want to use.
- If prompted, enter your billing information, then select monthly or annual payment and click Confirmation at the bottom of the panel.
In addition to the plans in the My account panel, we also offer an Enterprise Plan. If you'd like to talk to someone about the Enterprise Plan, please fill out this form.
Change your Acuity billing cycle
Changes to your billing frequency take effect as soon as you click to make the change.
Switch from a monthly to an annual billing cycle
To switch from monthly to annual billing on your current plan level:
- Go to the My account panel.
- On your current plan, click Switch to paying annually.
- Enter your credit card information.
- Click Upgrade and pay annually.
Note: If you’re billed monthly and switch to an annual cycle, you’ll receive a prorated refund for the unused portion of the month. This amount is deducted from the cost of your annual plan, and the final total appears at checkout.
To upgrade or downgrade your plan level, and switch from monthly to annual billing:
- Go to the My account panel.
- Click Upgrade or Downgrade on the plan level you want to switch to.
- Select Pay annually.
- Enter your credit card information.
- Click Upgrade and pay annually or Downgrade and pay annually.
Switch from an annual to a monthly billing cycle
Switching from an annual to a monthly billing cycle involves canceling your billing plan and starting a new one. During the transition, your data and settings will all be saved, however any active subscriptions you've sold to your clients will be canceled. You can reactivate those subscriptions after you’ve upgraded back to a paid plan.
To switch from annual to monthly billing:
- Go to the My account panel.
- Click Cancel subscription.
- Confirm the cancellation.
- Click Upgrade on the plan level you want.
- Select Paying monthly.
- Enter your credit card information.
- Click Upgrade and pay monthly.
Cancel your Acuity subscription
You can cancel your subscription, downgrading to the legacy free plan, at any time. In this state, your account data is saved, but you aren't charged. To cancel your Acuity subscription:
- In Acuity, click My Account.
- Scroll to the Current Plan section.
- Click Cancel Subscription, then click Confirm Cancellation.
This will downgrade you to the legacy free plan immediately. To reverse your cancellation, upgrade to a paid plan.
What happens after I cancel my subscription?
Clients can still book online if you’re on the legacy free plan. To prevent new bookings, remove all availability from your calendar.