If you use the original Acuity login, account settings are managed differently than if you logged in through Squarespace.
Use this guide if you log in to Acuity with an Acuity username and password, instead of a Squarespace account.
Managing usernames and passwords
Your username and password are how Acuity identifies you. You use this information when you log in, and you need to be able to access the email address you use as a username to get help with certain support questions.
Update your password (when you can log in to your account)
Update your password regularly to protect your Acuity Scheduling account. If you know your current password or are already logged in, use the steps below to create a new password.
To change your password:
- Go to the My account panel.
- Click Change password.
- Enter your new password.
- Click Save changes.
Reset your password (when you can’t log in to your account)
If you’ve forgotten your password, you can reset it:
- Go to https://acuityscheduling.com/forgotpass.php.
- Enter your email address.
- Click Reset password.
- Go to your email inbox and find the password reset message from Acuity Scheduling.
- Click Reset your password.
- Type in your new password, then click Save password.
If you have trouble using the forgotten password link:
- Ensure the email address you're entering is the one you use as your Acuity account username
- Try a different browser, such as Chrome, Firefox, or Safari
- Ensure your browser allows third-party cookies
Tips for creating a strong password
Using a complex password makes it harder to guess. We recommend:
- Having at least 15 characters. Longer is always better. Stringing several unrelated words together is more secure than a single word with letters replaced with numbers and symbols, such as "Pa$$w0rd!".
- Including at least one symbol, such as @,%,^, or &.
- Including at least one numeral.
- Using a password manager.
Change your username
Your username is the email address you use to log into Acuity. Change your username by updating the Email/username field.
Each email address can only be used with one Acuity account. If your email address is already connected to an Acuity account, remove it before trying to add it to a second account. This also applies to Acuity client accounts.
On a computer or a mobile browser
- Log in to the account with the username (email address) you want to change.
- Go to the My account page.
- Type a new email address into the Email/username field.
- Click Save changes.
In the Acuity Scheduling mobile admin app
- From the app home screen, tap Menu.
- Tap your email address.
- Type a new email address into the Email/username field.
- Tap Save changes.
Tip: If you want to add more users, review our information on adding users to Acuity accounts instead.
Find your username
Your username is the email address you use to log into Acuity. If you’ve forgotten your username, or if you get the error message “Username doesn’t exist” when you try to log in, check previous emails from Acuity (like billing receipts) for your username.
If that doesn't work, please fill out this form.
Note: It’s not possible to change the usernames of client accounts, which are accounts for people who book appointments with businesses that use Acuity. Instead, the next time you book an appointment, click the link on the confirmation page to create a new client account with a different username.
Log out of Acuity
To log out, click Log Out at the bottom of the left menu bar.
Delete your Acuity account
Deleting Acuity marks its content for permanent deletion and ends the account’s relationship with Acuity Scheduling. After deleting Acuity:
- You won’t be able to log in to make changes or view past data.
- Your scheduler won’t be accessible to visitors.
- Your scheduler and its data and content won’t be recoverable.
To delete your Acuity Scheduling account:
- Ensure your subscription is canceled.
- In Acuity, click My Account.
- Scroll to the Current Plan section.
- Click Delete My Account, then click Confirm Account Deletion.
Add, remove, or update a user
To add a new user to your Acuity account:
- Click Manage Users, and then New user.
- Enter the new user’s email address and assign them a password.
- Select their access level from the Access level drop-down menu.
- Optional: Check Allow user to export clients and appointments to give the user permission to export appointments.
- If you selected View only or View & edit access, use the checkboxes to choose which calendars they can access.
- Click Add user.
- Notify the new user of their username and password. Users won’t be automatically notified when you add them. Direct them to log in at www.acuityscheduling.com.
After you’ve added users, they can manage their password and username.
Acuity access levels
Users with view only and view & edit access have the same access as contributors at those levels.
Acuity users with admin access can do everything the account owner can do, except:
- Delete the main account.
- Edit or delete their user account.
- Change the username or password for the main account.
Remove users
To remove a user:
- Click Manage Users, then click Edit for the user you want to remove.
- Click Delete, then click OK to confirm.
Change a user’s access level
You can expand or reduce a user’s access to Acuity after you’ve added them. To change their access:
- Click Manage Users, then click Edit on the user’s name.
- Change their access level using the Access level drop-down menu.
- If they have view only or view & edit access, use the checkboxes to update which calendars they can access and their permission to export appointments.
- Click Update user to save your changes.
Note: Each email address can only be associated with one Acuity Scheduling account. If you're trying to add someone to an Acuity account and their email address is already associated with another Acuity account, you can add them using a different email address as their username. You can also have them change the email address they use as their username on the other Acuity account.
Transferring ownership of your Acuity account
When you transfer ownership to someone else, you’ll be removed from the account entirely. To transfer ownership:
- If the future owner is already a user on the Acuity account, go to the Manage users panel and remove them.
- In Acuity, click My Account.
- Enter the new owner’s email address in the Email/Username field.
- Click Change password.
- Choose a new password you’ll provide to the new owner.
- Click Save changes.
After you send the new password to the new owner, they should log in and change their password.
Note: This process won't work if the new owner's email address is already tied to an Acuity account or a client account. In that case, the new owner can use a different email address or remove their email address from the other Acuity account.
Next steps for new owners
As the new owner of an Acuity account, you may want to update several settings:
Update your card on file
Update your payment information for your account.
Review internal notification settings
Site or account owners can receive automated notifications. Adding the owner’s phone number or email address to a calendar’s settings will trigger a separate set of internal notifications. We recommend enabling one or the other, rather than both. To avoid confusion, we also recommend removing the previous owner’s information from any calendar where it's present.
Set access for the old owner
Decide what level of access the old owner should have. To learn more, visit Adding and managing Acuity contributors.
Update your password
When you were given control of your Acuity account, the old owner sent you a password that they set for you. Because they know that password, you should immediately update your password.