Change your Acuity billing plan and cycle

Last updated

Upgrade or downgrade your plan and switch to or from annual or monthly billing.

You can change your Acuity Scheduling billing plan and cycle at any time.

Also try: What happens to my Acuity account if I upgrade my site?

To find your billing steps, click Manage Billing or your account profile in Acuity. If your URL contains squarespace.com, follow the steps for Squarespace-managed billing. If it contains acuityscheduling.com, follow the steps for Acuity-managed billing.

Who can make billing changes?

To make changes to the billing plan and cycle, you must be the account owner, or be a contributor with billing or administrator permissions (different from the Scheduling administrator). If you're a contributor, you can check your permission level in your account dashboard by clickingthe person icon. Keep in mind, contributors who only have Scheduling administrator permissions can't make billing changes.

Change your billing plan or cycle (Squarespace-managed billing)

To change your plan and billing cycle, change your plan first. Then return to the Billing panel to change your billing cycle. You can’t change them at the same time.

Change your billing plan (Squarespace-managed billing)

To switch to a different Acuity plan:

  1. If you're downgrading your plan, you may lose essential features. Review all the features of a plan before switching.
  2. If your Acuity subscription is past due, or to use a different card for this change, update the card on file first.
  3. Review the timing of this change and any charges you may incur.
  4. In your account dashboard, click at the top-right of the card for your Acuity Scheduling subscription (if you're using Acuity by itself) or the card that includes your Acuity Scheduling subscription (if you're using Acuity with other subscriptions).
  5. Click Billing, then click your Scheduling subscription.
  6. Find your plan and click Change or Upgrade.
  7. Find the plan you want to move to and click Select.
  8. Review the plan change details.
  9. Confirm the charge.

If you purchased your Acuity plan in the Acuity Scheduling Admin mobile app, you'll need to manage your subscription through Apple.

Change your billing cycle (Squarespace-managed billing)

To switch to annual or monthly billing if you've added Acuity to a Squarespace website:

  1. Review the timing of this change and any charges you may incur.
  2. Open the Billing panel.
  3. Under Subscriptions, click Scheduling.
  4. Beside your current billing cycle (Pay monthly or Pay annually), click Change.
  5. Choose to Keep your current plan or Select a different plan.
  6. Click Pay annually or Pay monthly.
  7. Review the plan change details.
  8. Click Confirm cycle change.

To switch to annual or monthly billing if you're using Acuity on its own:

  1. Review the timing of this change and any charges you may incur.
  2. In the account dashboard, click at the top-right of your Acuity subscription's card, then click Billing.
  3. Click your subscription.
  4. Find your billing cycle and click Change.
  5. Choose to Keep your current plan or Select a different plan.
  6. Select Pay annually or Pay monthly.
  7. Review the plan change details.
  8. Confirm the charge.

If you purchased your Acuity plan in the Acuity Scheduling Admin mobile app, you'll need to manage your subscription through Apple.

Change your billing plan (Acuity-managed billing)

Changes to your plan take effect as soon as you click Upgrade or Downgrade.

To upgrade or downgrade your plan:

  1. In Acuity, click Manage Billing.
  2. Click Upgrade or Downgrade for the plan you want to use.
  3. If prompted, enter your billing information, then select monthly or annual payment and click the confirmation button at the bottom of the panel.

Switch from a monthly plan to an annual plan (Acuity-managed billing)

To go from a monthly plan to an annual plan while staying at the same plan level:

  1. In Acuity, click Manage Billing.
  2. On your current plan, click Switch to paying annually.
  3. Enter your credit card information.
  4. Click Upgrade and pay annually.

To go from a monthly plan to an annual plan while changing your plan level:

  1. In Acuity, click Manage Billing.
  2. Find the plan level you want to switch to and click Upgrade or Downgrade.
  3. Select Pay annually.
  4. Enter your credit card information.
  5. Click Upgrade and pay annually or Downgrade and pay annually.

Switch from an annual plan to a monthly plan (Acuity-managed billing)

You switch from an annual to a monthly plan by canceling your annual subscription, which temporarily drops you to the free plan, then upgrading to the monthly plan you want.

Your data and settings will all be saved during this transition, but any active subscriptions you've sold to your clients will be canceled during the transition. You can reactivate those subscriptions after you’ve upgraded back to a paid plan.

To switch from annual to monthly billing:

  1. In Acuity, click Manage Billing.
  2. Click Cancel subscription.
  3. Confirm the cancellation.
  4. Click Upgrade on the plan level you want.
  5. Select Paying monthly.
  6. Enter your credit card information.
  7. Click Upgrade and pay monthly.

Timing and billing of upgrades and downgrades

When you change your plan or billing cycle, you’ll gain or lose access to specific features. If you're downgrading your plan, you may lose essential features at the end of your current billing cycle. Review your plan’s features before changing plans.

Switching to monthly billing

If you switch from annual to monthly billing, you’ll start your new billing cycle at the end of your current term. You won’t be charged your new plan’s pricing until the start of your new monthly billing cycle. You’ll also have access to your current plan’s features until the start of your new billing cycle.

Switching to annual billing

If you switch from monthly to annual billing, you’ll start your new billing cycle immediately. You’ll be charged immediately for your new billing cycle. The invoice will be a prorated charge based on the cost of the unused time from the month subtracted from the cost of the annual plan.

Downgrading your plan

If you downgrade your plan, you’ll have access to your current plan’s features until the end of your current billing cycle. You’ll be charged your new plan’s pricing at the start of your new billing cycle. Your billing cycle and renewal date won’t change.

Upgrading your plan

If you upgrade your plan, you’ll be charged the prorated difference between the two plans based on the remaining time in your billing cycle. You’ll have immediate access to your new plan’s features, unless you also opt to update your billing cycle at the same time. Your billing cycle and renewal date won’t change.

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 15 found this helpful

Can't find what you're looking for?

We're here to help.

Contact Us