Article Summary
Last updated
Upgrade or downgrade your plan and switch to or from annual or monthly billing.
You can change your Acuity Scheduling billing plan and cycle at any time.
Also try: What happens to my Acuity account if I upgrade my site?
To find your billing steps, click Manage Billing or your account profile in Acuity. If your URL contains squarespace.com, follow the steps for Squarespace-managed billing. If it contains acuityscheduling.com, follow the steps for Acuity-managed billing.
Who can make billing changes?
To make changes to the billing plan and cycle, you must be the account owner, or be a contributor with billing or administrator permissions (different from the Scheduling administrator). If you're a contributor, you can check your permission level in your account dashboard by clicking. Keep in mind, contributors who only have Scheduling administrator permissions can't make billing changes.
Change your billing plan or cycle (Squarespace-managed billing)
To change your plan and billing cycle, change your plan first. Then return to the Billing panel to change your billing cycle. You can’t change them at the same time.
Change your billing plan (Squarespace-managed billing)
To switch to a different Acuity plan:
- If you're downgrading your plan, you may lose essential features. Review all the features of a plan before switching.
- If your Acuity subscription is past due, or to use a different card for this change, update the card on file first.
- Review the timing of this change and any charges you may incur.
- In your account dashboard, click … at the top-right of the card for your Acuity Scheduling subscription (if you're using Acuity by itself) or the card that includes your Acuity Scheduling subscription (if you're using Acuity with other subscriptions).
- Click Billing, then click your Scheduling subscription.
- Find your plan and click Change or Upgrade.
- Find the plan you want to move to and click Select.
- Review the plan change details.
- Confirm the charge.
If you purchased your Acuity plan in the Acuity Scheduling Admin mobile app, you'll need to manage your subscription through Apple.
Change your billing cycle (Squarespace-managed billing)
To switch to annual or monthly billing if you've added Acuity to a Squarespace website:
- Review the timing of this change and any charges you may incur.
- Open the Billing panel.
- Under Subscriptions, click Scheduling.
- Beside your current billing cycle (Pay monthly or Pay annually), click Change.
- Choose to Keep your current plan or Select a different plan.
- Click Pay annually or Pay monthly.
- Review the plan change details.
- Click Confirm cycle change.
To switch to annual or monthly billing if you're using Acuity on its own:
- Review the timing of this change and any charges you may incur.
- In the account dashboard, click … at the top-right of your Acuity subscription's card, then click Billing.
- Click your subscription.
- Find your billing cycle and click Change.
- Choose to Keep your current plan or Select a different plan.
- Select Pay annually or Pay monthly.
- Review the plan change details.
- Confirm the charge.
If you purchased your Acuity plan in the Acuity Scheduling Admin mobile app, you'll need to manage your subscription through Apple.
Change your billing plan (Acuity-managed billing)
Changes to your plan take effect as soon as you click Upgrade or Downgrade.
To upgrade or downgrade your plan:
- In Acuity, click Manage Billing.
- Click Upgrade or Downgrade for the plan you want to use.
- If prompted, enter your billing information, then select monthly or annual payment and click the confirmation button at the bottom of the panel.
Switch from a monthly plan to an annual plan (Acuity-managed billing)
To go from a monthly plan to an annual plan while staying at the same plan level:
- In Acuity, click Manage Billing.
- On your current plan, click Switch to paying annually.
- Enter your credit card information.
- Click Upgrade and pay annually.
To go from a monthly plan to an annual plan while changing your plan level:
- In Acuity, click Manage Billing.
- Find the plan level you want to switch to and click Upgrade or Downgrade.
- Select Pay annually.
- Enter your credit card information.
- Click Upgrade and pay annually or Downgrade and pay annually.
Switch from an annual plan to a monthly plan (Acuity-managed billing)
You switch from an annual to a monthly plan by canceling your annual subscription, which temporarily drops you to the free plan, then upgrading to the monthly plan you want.
When you cancel your annual subscription:
- Your data and settings will all be saved during the transition
- Active subscriptions you've sold to your clients will be canceled. You can reactivate those subscriptions after you’ve upgraded back to a paid plan.
- Text messages are turned off. You need to turn them back on after you’ve upgraded back to a paid plan.
- If you have more than one bookable calendar, only one becomes available when in the cancelled state.
To switch from annual to monthly billing:
- In Acuity, click Manage Billing.
- Click Cancel subscription.
- Confirm the cancellation.
- Click Upgrade on the plan level you want.
- Select Paying monthly.
- Enter your credit card information.
- Click Upgrade and pay monthly.
Timing and billing of upgrades and downgrades
When you change your plan or billing cycle, you’ll gain or lose access to specific features. If you're downgrading your plan, you may lose essential features at the end of your current billing cycle. Review your plan’s features before changing plans.
What happens when I switch to monthly billing?
- Squarespace-managed billing - If you switch from annual to monthly billing, your new plan starts when your current billing cycle ends. Until then, you keep your current features and existing rate.
- Acuity-managed billing - If you switch from annual to monthly billing, your new cycle starts as soon as you cancel and resubscribe. Your first monthly payment is due at the same time.
What happens when I switch to annual billing?
If you switch from monthly to annual billing, you’ll start your new billing cycle immediately. You’ll be charged immediately for your new billing cycle. The invoice will be a prorated charge based on the cost of the unused time from the month subtracted from the cost of the annual plan.
What happens when I downgrade my plan?
What happens when you downgrade depends on how your billing is managed.
If your billing is managed by Squarespace and you downgrade your plan, you’ll have access to your current plan’s features until the end of your current billing cycle. You’ll be charged your new plan’s price at the start of your new billing cycle. Your billing cycle and renewal date won’t change.
If your billing is managed by Acuity, the change takes effect as soon as you click Downgrade in the My account panel. The time left on your current plan is credited towards the new plan. Learn about changing your Acuity plan on an Acuity-managed billing account.
What happens when I upgrade my plan?
If you upgrade your plan, you’ll be charged the prorated difference between the two plans based on the remaining time in your billing cycle. You’ll have immediate access to your new plan’s features, unless you also opt to update your billing cycle at the same time. Your billing cycle and renewal date won’t change.