When a client books with you, they have the option to register for a client account. Client accounts enable them to track appointments, see active appointment codes, and more. This guide explains what client accounts do, how clients register for and use them, and how to remove the option for your clients.

What client accounts do

When a client creates a client account, they can:

Customers can skip certain forms that Acuity will autofill for them:

  • Their name, phone number, and email address.
  • Intake forms they’ve already filled out. Customers can update this information if necessary, but otherwise skip these forms
  • Their card information if they’ve chosen to store it.
Tip: Clients who aren’t logged in might see their name, phone number, and email address autofill if they’re using a computer and browser they’ve already used to book an appointment.

How clients register

Clients can register by clicking Register for an account while viewing the confirmation at the end of the booking process. They need to create a password, agree to our terms of service, and acknowledge our privacy policy. Once they click Sign up, they’re ready to start using their client account.

It isn’t possible to register an account on a client’s behalf. If you’ve booked an appointment on a client’s behalf, they can click Change/Cancel appointment in their confirmation email to reach the confirmation page, where they can register for an account.

How clients log in

If clients aren’t already logged in when they reach your scheduler, they can click Log in in the top-right corner. They'll enter their email address and password, then click Log in.

They can also log in through the Acuity Scheduling Client mobile app. To learn more, visit How clients use the Acuity Scheduling Client mobile app.

Client account limitations

You can't force clients to register for a client account or log into one when booking an appointment. Clients who’ve created client accounts can still book appointments without signing in.

We don’t offer single sign-in solutions for client accounts.

Turn client accounts on or off

The buttons clients use to register for and log into client accounts are enabled by default. To manage this setting, click Customize appearance, then click Scheduling page options. Check or uncheck the box next to Disable client log in & registration, then click Save changes.

How to tell if a client has an account

To determine if a client is registered, you can check your client list. A checkmark will appear next to the client’s name in the client list if they have a client account and have booked an appointment with your business while logged in.

How to tell if an appointment is assigned to a client account

When looking at a client’s profile and appointment history, there’s a silhouette icon on appointments that are assigned to a client account. In the screenshot below, the first appointment is assigned to a client account, while the second appointment isn't.

appointment view shows client account silhouette.jpg

If you click the appointment to open the appointment details, the Client User field shows the client account.

Assign appointments, packages, and more to client accounts

When a client logs into their account, they see all appointments that are assigned to their client account. ​​They don’t see appointments that aren’t assigned to their account, even if the appointments are associated with the same email address as their client account.

Acuity automatically assigns an appointment to a client account when:

  • The client booked the appointment while logged into their client account
  • The client booked the appointment before creating a client account, but later created an account using the same email address; after the client verifies their account through the verification email, the appointment appears in their client account
  • You booked the appointment on behalf of the client—unless appointments tied to your client's email address are assigned to more than one client account

Acuity doesn't assign an appointment to a client account when:

  • The client booked the appointment without logging in, even if the email address on the appointment matches the email address on the client account.
  • You booked an appointment on behalf of a client, but appointments tied to your client's email address are assigned to more than one client account

Assign an appointment to client accounts manually

You can assign a single appointment to a client account, or assign many of a specific client’s appointments to their client account at the same time.

To assign a single appointment to a client account:

  1. In Acuity, click Calendar, then ​​click the appointment to open the appointment details.
  2. Click Edit, then use the search field in the Client User section to find and select a client account.
  3. Click Save.

The option to assign multiple appointments to a client account only appears if the client already has at least one appointment tied to a client account. It doesn't appear if the client has appointments tied to different client accounts. 

To assign multiple appointments to a client account:

  1. In Acuity, click Clients.
  2. Click a client’s name, then click Assign all to client user.

Assign a package, gift certificate, or subscription to a client account

Unlike appointments, a package, gift certificate, or subscription will automatically be added to a client's account if they purchase it using the same email address, even if they're logged out at the time.

You can also manually assign a code to a client's account. For example, if a client purchases a gift certificate in-person using cash, you can manually assign the gift certificate code to them. To assign the code to a client account:

  1. In Acuity, click Packages, Gifts & Subscriptions
  2. Click View Orders
  3. Click the order to edit, then click the code
  4. Click the Assign to a client who has registered for an account dropdown menu and select or enter an email address. 
  5. Click Update Code

The client will see this code listed when they log into their client account or enter their email address to redeem the code. 

Remove appointments from a client account

After you remove an appointment from a client account, it will continue to appear in the client's entry in the client list, but it will no longer appear to the client when they log into their client account. To remove the appointment from the client list entry, update the first or last name associated with the appointment. 

To remove an appointment from a client account:

  1. In Acuity, click Clients.
  2. Click a client's name.
  3. Find the appointment you want to remove. Click it to open the appointment details.
  4. Scroll to the Client User field, then click the account name to open the field, then click Remove.
  5. Click Save.

How clients reset passwords

Clients can click the Forgot your password? link next to the password field and follow the prompts that appear to trigger a password reset email.

If a client tries to log in and enters incorrect information, or leaves the password field blank, Acuity shows an incorrect password alert that also includes a Forgot your password? link.

It's not possible to reset a client’s password for them.

Changing a client account email address

It's not possible to change the email address associated with a client account. If a client wants to use a different email, they should create a new account with the new email. The business owner can then assign the client's appointments and packages from the old account to the new one.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 1 found this helpful

Can't find what you're looking for?

We're here to help.

Contact Us