Changing Acuity Scheduling ownership

Last updated

Transfer an Acuity account to a new owner.

If you own an Acuity Scheduling account, you can transfer ownership to another person. This is useful if you set up Acuity for someone else, are leaving an organization, or have sold your business.

Who can transfer ownership?

Only the owner can transfer ownership to a single person. Each Acuity account can only have one owner. There isn’t a way to share ownership of an Acuity account.

Timing of ownership changes

A change in account ownership takes effect immediately and isn’t reversible.

Previous owner’s status after an ownership change

When you transfer ownership to someone else, your access is immediately downgraded to contributor. The new owner can then remove your access entirely if they want.

Transfer ownership

Depending on if your subscription is attached to a website or not, there are different processes for transferring ownership of Acuity.

To determine if Acuity is attached to a website, go to your account dashboard:

  • Acuity attached to a website - the card for your project has a Website and an Acuity Scheduling tab
  • Acuity not attached to a website - the card for your project only has an Acuity Scheduling tab

Acuity subscription that’s attached to a website

If your Acuity account is attached to a Squarespace website, ownership of the Acuity subscription transfers along with ownership of the website. It’s not possible to transfer Acuity to someone else and remain as the owner of the website.

To transfer ownership of an Acuity subscription that's attached to a Squarespace website, transfer the entire website to the new owner.

Acuity subscription that’s not attached to a website

You can transfer ownership of the subscription to a contributor:

  1. If you haven’t already, invite the new owner to become a contributor.
  2. Ensure the new owner accepts your invitation.
  3. Go to your account dashboard.
  4. Find the Acuity subscription you want to transfer and click , then click Permissions.
  5. Click Transfer ownership. If prompted, log in again to verify your identity.
  6. Choose the new owner from the dropdown menu.
  7. Click Continue, then click Confirm.

Next steps for new owners

As the new owner of an Acuity account, you may want to update several settings:

Update your card on file

Update your payment information for your account.

Review internal notification settings

Site or account owners can receive automated notifications. Adding the owner’s phone number or email address to a calendar’s settings will trigger a separate set of internal notifications. We recommend enabling one or the other, rather than both. To avoid confusion, we also recommend removing the previous owner’s information from any calendar where it's present.

Set access for the old owner

Decide what level of access the old owner should have. To learn more, visit Adding and managing Acuity contributors.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 1 found this helpful

Can't find what you're looking for?

We're here to help.

Contact Us