Article Summary
Last updated
Save client card details to charge later.
You can save your client's card details so you can collect payment after booking, or charge your client's card if you're booking an appointment on their behalf.
You can use this feature if you use Stripe or Square as your sole payment processor. It's not possible to use this feature if you use PayPal either by itself or in combination with another processor.
Saving card details
Your client's card details are saved if:
- Your client enters their payment details to be charged later through Stripe or Square.
- Your client pays a deposit on an appointment through Stripe or Square.
- Your client pays in full through Stripe.
- You save a card to your client's appointment.
Your clients’ card details aren’t saved if:
- Your client chooses a free appointment on your scheduler. To prevent this, give all your appointment types a price.
- Your client pays in full using Square.
- Your client pays through PayPal.
- You enter payment details directly into Acuity for your client using Square and their card is affected by Strong Customer Authentication, or SCA.
You can adjust your payment terms to decide if clients have to pay in full, can pay deposits, or can enter payment details to be charged later.
Save a card to your client's appointment
To add a client’s card details to their appointment without charging them:
- Open the Calendar panel.
- Click the appointment to open the appointment details, then click Make Payment.
- Click New Card and enter the client’s name and card details.
- Check Save card details without charging.
- Click Pay.
Charge a saved card
You can charge a client using a saved card by following the steps to collect payments after booking.
Remove a card on file
It's not possible to remove the card on file for one of your clients from your Acuity account. Instead, go to your payment processor dashboard and manually remove it from the payment processor's file for the client.
Clients removing cards saved with Square
When Square saves a client's card information, it sends your client an email allowing them to remove the saved card. Removing the card won't cancel their appointment, but it will prevent you using saved card details to charge them for their unpaid balance.
Saving cards to packages, gift certificates, and subscriptions
Cards saved for appointments can be used to buy packages, gift certificates, and subscriptions. However, cards that are saved when buying a package, gift certificate, or subscription can't be used to pay for appointments.