Sales Tax on Your Acuity Bill

Acuity is legally required by some jurisdictions to collect sales tax when we bill you for your Acuity plan. If we collect tax from you, it will be clearly listed on your receipt. Tax rates vary by jurisdiction.

In this article:

Note: If you’re wondering about how to collect sales tax from your clients, read more here.

U.S. sales tax

We will collect sales tax when billing residents of the following states and cities:

  • Chicago, Illinois
  • Connecticut
  • Denver, Colorado
  • Hawaii
  • Massachusetts
  • New York
  • Ohio
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Washington
  • Washington, DC
  • West Virginia

European Union Value Added Tax and Australian Goods and Services Tax

Beginning in May 2019, we will be collecting VAT from customers in the EU and GST from customers in Australia. To enter your VAT number or Australian Business Number, go to the My Account page and click Update Credit Card.

Report an error or exemption

If tax is listed on your bill, but you don’t live in a region where we collect sales tax, please make sure that your address is correct in our system.

  • Go to the My Account page.
  • Scroll down to the Current Plan section.
  • Click the Update Credit Card button.
  • Make any needed changes to your address.
  • Click the Update Billing button.

Some customers, such as certain nonprofit groups and government agencies, are exempt from sales tax. If we are collecting tax on your bill and you believe that you qualify for an exemption from sales tax, please contact us. U.S. users should be sure to attach a copy of your sales tax exemption certificate.

Have more questions? Submit a request