Add Additional Users and Staff to Your Acuity Account

Acuity only allows one all-powerful admin who has access to all areas of the account. However, you can add as many limited-access "Users" as you'd like!

Limited-access users will have access to view and manage appointments and availability on any calendars to which they’re granted access. They won’t be able to access account-wide settings, like creating appointment types, reports, or setting up billing info.  As a sub-admin you’ll only see clients booked on calendars you have access to. 

_______________________________________________________________________________________

How To Add Users

You can add new users and manage existing ones from the Manage Users tab. To create a new user, click +New User, then create a username (their email) and a password, and assign the user to any calendars you’d like them to access. 
 
Follow these steps to onboard your staff:
  1. Go to Manage Users
  2. Click +New User
  3. Add the new user's email address (which will be their username) and assign a password to them (they can always change their password at a later time)
  4. Tick the checkbox(es) of any Calendar(s) the new user will need to access 
Once the new user logs into their account (with their username and password), they will be able to set Availability (available hours) on Calendars they can access.
 
Keep in mind: Adding new sub-users will add the sub-user's email address to the calendar's email field that to which the sub-user is given access. If you do not want your sub-users being notified of appointments booked onto the calendar they have been given access to, you will need to go into the calendar settings and remove the new user's email addresses from the email field. 
 
Creating Calendars For Staff
 
If you also need to add a unique Calendar for the user, you can do so by going to Business Settings > Availability, and selecting the +New Calendar button. If you haven't assigned access to the new user, you can do so over in Manage Users.
 
 
User Access Basics

Once you’ve added a user, they’re granted access to:

  • The Appointments page, where the appointment calendar can be viewed in daily, weekly, or monthly view.  
  • The Availability page, where they can set availability for the calendars they’re granted access to.
  • The Client List page, where they can view and manage any clients who have booked appointments on the calendars they've been assigned, or have manually imported clients into. 
  • The Import/Export page, where they’re able to export their client list and appointment list as a CSV file and import clients into their personal list.
  • The Client's Scheduling Page, where they’ll find the standalone scheduling page link for the account, and direct links for their appointments/calendars. 
  • The Integrations page, where the integrations program Zapier can be used to connect with other systems like Salesforce and Infusionsoft (this requires some developer coding knowledge to set up).
  • The Sync with Other Calendars page, where they’re able to access a 2-way sync between their Acuity calendar and their iCloud, Outlook, Office 365, and/or Outlook Exchange calendars, and set up a 1-way sync with said program(s). 
  • The My Account page where they can reset their password.

This is what Acuity will look like to a User:

YwUvF4AFVr.gif

 

Keep in mind when adding new users on your account:
  • Users all have the same level of access. There’s no view-only access level, but calendar syncing allows you to share your calendar with employees without making changes to your user accounts. You can even share your external calendar link publicly so that users can view it. For example, sen your users the link to your Google calendar if you are syncing your Acuity calendar with Google.
  • Appointments from Acuity can’t be edited from within a synced or subscribed calendar, all changes to Acuity appointments would need to be made in system. 
  • When you add a new user, their email address is automatically added to the calendar settings! If you do not want this, you'll need to go into calendar settings and remove their email address. The new user will  still have access to the calendar, just won't get notifications.
Have more questions? Submit a request